back to top
Saturday, June 22, 2024
9 C

Key Appointments of Bishops

Most read

The Australian Catholic Bishops Conference today elected as president of the Conference and Sydney Archbishop Anthony Fisher OP as vice-president.

Archbishop Coleridge replaces Archbishop Denis Hart, who will next week complete six years serving as president of the conference – the maximum term a president can serve.

Archbishop Coleridge was ordained Auxiliary Bishop of Melbourne in 2002 and later became Archbishop of Canberra-Goulburn. Since 2012, he has served as Archbishop of Brisbane.

- Advertisement -

“With few illusions about myself or the task that awaits, I humbly accept the call to serve as president of the Conference at a time that is clearly challenging,” Archbishop Coleridge said.”Among other issues, we bishops will together have to address the recommendations of the Royal Commission and prepare for the upcoming Plenary Council 2020. I trust I will be able to provide the unifying leadership this will require.

“Pope Francis is showing the way for bishops conferences around the world, and I look to his leadership to guide and inspire mine in Australia.”

Archbishop Coleridge, who will take up the new position from May 10, paid tribute to Archbishop Hart: “With his courtesy and efficiency, Archbishop Hart has made a unique contribution as president of the Conference since 2012,” Archbishop Coleridge said.

Both Archbishop Coleridge and Archbishop Fisher will serve two-year terms.

The more than 40 members of the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference today opened their biannual plenary meeting in North Sydney.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -